Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)

The Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) are political goals set by the UN regarding sustainable economic, social and ecological development.

What’s it all about?

  • What are the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)?
  • What targets are formulated in the SDGs?

The Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) are the political goals of the United Nations (UN) for sustainable development at economic, social and ecological level.

The SDGs are an integral component of the document “Transforming our world: the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development”, also known as “Agenda 2030”. Agenda 2030 defines 17 primary goals and 169 targets. These goals cover all three dimensions of sustainability – economic, social and environmental.

The 17 goals of Agenda 2030 for sustainable development

1. No poverty 
2. Zero hunger
3. Good health and well-being
4. Quality education 
5. Gender equality
6. Clean water and sanitation
7. Affordable and clean energy
8. Decent work and economic growth
9. Industry, innovation and infrastructure
10. Reduced inequalities
11. Sustainable cities and communities
12. Responsible consumption and production
13. Climate action
14. Life below water
15. Life on land
16. Peace, justice and strong institutions
17. Partnerships for the goals

METRO implements SDGs

METRO takes responsibility and contributes actively to realizing the SDGs by promoting sustainable practices in its business activities and working towards a positive social and ecological impact.

METRO follows a sustainability strategy (ESG Strategy) embedded in its sCore corporate strategy.

Learn more here.